fbpx

Control Content Visibility on Your Joomla Website with Display Conditions Know More

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Include mega menu in mobile menu on mobile view

Include mega menu in mobile menu on mobile view 9 months 2 weeks ago #20141

  • thowal1
  • thowal1's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
Hi @ all!

I have a problem with including a mega menu into my mobile menu on mobile view.

First of all my mobile menu is defferent to my main menu. "Mobile menu" is selected as being the mobile menu in the template configuration options.
In both cases / menus there is no joomla module-position assigned, since not being needed, because of being activated by template configuration options.

If I now publish the mobile menu, it appears (after klick on the left screen side as normal) with the 1st level entries of mobile menu and arrows leading to 2nd level entries.

What I saw, watching the different tutorials by joomdev, was, that the explained mega menus were already being a sub menu to the - in those cases - main menu.

So what I then did was changing the structure of my mobile menu as follows:

I created an additional 1st level entry of mobile menu and assigned this one as being a menu heading.

All other 1st and 2nd level entries 1 pushed one level down, being then 2nd and 3rd level entries of mobile menu, respectively being 1st and 2nd levels entries of the menu heading just created as written above.

I activated the mega menu option in the menu heading entry and added 7 rows to the mega menu, since I have 7 sunbenu-items being related to the mega menu.

Then I added the 7 sub-menus to the different rows.

After saving structure and reloading the page, what now happens is that the 1st-level entry of my mobile menu, being a menu heading, is NOT being recognized as a menu heading, but instead is considered as a normal 1st level menu item of my mobile menu by arrow leading to 2nd and 3rd level entries of the mobile menu.

So this is part of my mobile menu:



The entry at the Top, ID 176 is the menu heading I created. It 1 1st level of mobile menu. The enty below that - ID 151 - is 2nd level to mobile menu and so on.



This is the heading entry configuration.



And here we go with the mega menu options.

What it looks like is this:







So anyone please ... what did I miss?

Greetings

Thorsten
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Include mega menu in mobile menu on mobile view 9 months 1 week ago #20159

  • nishtha
  • nishtha's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1532
  • Thank you received: 146
  • Karma: 20
Hi Thorsten,

1. If you choose any menu item as a menu heading type then it will be displayed as a Heading only that has no link with you click over it, but it will still be considered as any other menu item in your case its the 1st level menu item with submenu items.
2. Mega menu will be displayed this way only in mobile view it won't be extra highlighted as in desktop view.
3. Please specify how & what exactly you want here with the mega menu.

Thanks,
Nishtha
Thank You,
If you like our support and products, tweet us at joomdev and let the world know about it.

To know more about products check out the their documentation.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: thowal1

Include mega menu in mobile menu on mobile view 9 months 1 week ago #20160

  • thowal1
  • thowal1's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
Hello Nishtha!

My original idea behind that was adding modules to the mobile menu ... as in the main tutorial video cheetan moved asteroid top social to off-canvas menu by assigning top social icons from their original position to off-canvas menu.

What I tried before the things I have written above, was having two mobile menus. The first of them being the mega-mobile-menu with just that 1st level menu heading, as I wrote above. The second mobile menu being the original mobile menu before shifting every entry one level down, as written above.

As I then declared that heading of the mega-mobile-menu is being the beginning of my mega menu and added three rows ... where the second one was the insert of my original mobile menu ... it was not displayed. Other modules neither.

I mean ... I thied to create a mobile mega menu with three elements.

row 1, col 1: Module logo | row 1, col 2: Headline mobile
row 2: org. mobile menu iserted as a module
row 3: module google maps or social or some contact shortcuts

But the modules were not recognized.

Hope I explained that well enough to understand.

Greetings

T.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Include mega menu in mobile menu on mobile view 9 months 1 week ago #20187

  • nishtha
  • nishtha's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1532
  • Thank you received: 146
  • Karma: 20
Hi,

Ohh now I get what you mean, currently the modules cannot be displayed in the mobile menu, the Astroid Mega Menu can only be styled for desktop view.
We'll have to see if this needs to be added or not!

Will let you know the status after the discussion.

Thanks,
Nishtha
Thank You,
If you like our support and products, tweet us at joomdev and let the world know about it.

To know more about products check out the their documentation.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: thowal1

Include mega menu in mobile menu on mobile view 9 months 1 week ago #20199

  • thowal1
  • thowal1's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
Oh yeah! Thanks for the answer.

Please keep me informed.

By the way: Can you please tell me, if JD Seattle is compatible to joomla 4 ?

I'm just doing a completely new setup on joomla 3.9.15.

Don't want to do thias again in a few weeks.

Greetings

Thorsten
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Include mega menu in mobile menu on mobile view 9 months 1 week ago #20202

  • chandandeep
  • chandandeep's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 3891
  • Thank you received: 595
  • Karma: 101
Hello Thorsten,

JD Seattle's next version will be compatible with Joomla 4.

Thanks,
Chandan
Thank You,
If you like our support and products, tweet us at joomdev and let the world know about it.

To know more about products check out the their documentation.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Include mega menu in mobile menu on mobile view 9 months 1 week ago #20215

  • thowal1
  • thowal1's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
Can I then just reinstall just the template without having to reprogramm alls menus, articles etc ?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Include mega menu in mobile menu on mobile view 9 months 1 week ago #20238

  • nishtha
  • nishtha's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1532
  • Thank you received: 146
  • Karma: 20
Hi Thorsten,

1. No you don't need to uninstall or reinstall anything after JD Seattle is compatible with Joomla 4 we will release an update of the template, then simply install that and your work will be done.
2. No you cannot create/get the Astroid's Mega menu view for Mobile Menu, there it's just for displaying the menu no modules or anything as such.

Let us know if you have any more issues.

Thanks,
Nishtha
Thank You,
If you like our support and products, tweet us at joomdev and let the world know about it.

To know more about products check out the their documentation.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Moderators: chandandeep
Time to create page: 0.393 seconds